[24/11/2019] Running lots of commands from a file with bash

Recently, my Father had a very particular request for a script he needed for his work. The script had to take a text in the format of "echo 'command', command" and echo the command name back, break for a newline then echo the command's output. I did, this, but I also constructed a generalized more useful variant of this application.

Consider a file with each line being a command. This shell script will echo the name of the command, then on a new line echo the output of the command and then on a new line repeat this for the next line in the text. What this enables is running a lot of commands and having output that can be piped out to a text or other command.

The shell script for this can be found here. The shell script that answers my Father's particular input file format can be found here.

<Latest><Next><List><Previous><Oldest>
Take me home!
Bad for health, Good for education